Posted by: xeper | May 17, 2008

Visual Beauty – Occipital Hypertrophy

Amidst the ugliness of cement with which poor city dwellers are surrounded, and to compensate the horrible visuals in the news with which one is bombarded on daily basis, one needs to soothe one’s eyes with visual beauty from time to time. Today I invite you to check out the small but beautiful Occipital Hypertrophy; a photoblog by Stuart Lees. It will probably not be difficult to know which photo brought this wonderful work into my search results. Enjoy.

Stu, thank you. We’re waiting for more.

Responses

  1. I agree that is really amazing

  2. Luxor Temple at night is breath takingly beautiful. It really is. I have some pictures of it I really should put on line.

    People disagree with me on this, but Karnak can be just as beautiful, from the festival hall of Thutmose III, when the sun is setting. Its colours are some of the warmest and most beautiful I’ve seen on any building, anywhere. It’s horrible how they desecrate it (and that is the right word, I feel) with the S&L performances.

  3. Xeper, thank you for your generous comments, and rest assured, there are a lot more Egyptian photos to come!

    After my brief tour of that amazing country (I spent a week touring the ancient world, and a second week diving in the Red Sea), I have a photo collection of about 500 images. A small collection of those I exhibited a few years ago in a local art gallery of which the Colossi of Memnon was one.

    When I get a chance over the next day or two, I will post a few more. (And they will filter through for a long time to come yet – the photos have been “shoeboxed” for way too long)

  4. I’m glad you liked the photoblog. It is already growing nicely, won’t you say?

    Stu, thank you for continuing to post the Egyptian photos over the ground and we’re waiting for the ones under the sea πŸ™‚
    I also liked your ships collection.. so majestic..

    Silver, I agree on the word. Sound and Light disgusted me on the only occasion I attended, it was more horrible than I even thought it would be. (I had attended just to make sure.)
    Where are the photos you said you should post, Huh?? πŸ™‚

    I’m glad this blog is Xepering (for the new ones: “developing”) more than a blog on Becoming, but also as a forum for the multi-talented πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

